History of EARA

EARA stands for European Association for Research on Adolescence. EARA is a multidisciplinary European research organization established to understand adolescence as a life phase through scientific investigation and applied research.

The initiative to establish such an European association was taken by Hector Rodriguez-Toma and Sandy Jackson. This followed a series of informal meetings at which psychologists from different parts of Europe gathered to discuss new developments, ideas, and research findings in the field of Adolescence. The meetings served to illustrate the range of knowledge and research in the area of adolescence that was present in the different European countries. Those attending saw the advantages of establishing closer acquaintance with other European colleagues and their work. The formation of an association seemed to be an obvious means to achieve this end.

EARA was first established as an international scientific organization at a meeting in Paris in 1988. The Association was formally formed in 1991. From Paris onwards, biennial conferences have been organized in various parts of Europe.

Click here to read the Rules and Bye-Laws of EARA.

Past and present presidents of EARA:
1988-2000: Sandy Jackson, The Netherlands
2000-2002: Monique Bolognini, Switzerland
2002-2004: Hakan Stattin, Sweden
2004-2006: Luc Goossens, Belgium
2006-2008: Peter Noack, Germany
2008-2010: Inge Seiffge-Krenke, Germany
2010-2012: Michel Born, Belgium
2012-2014: Wim Meeus, The Netherlands
2014-2016: Figen Cok, Turkey
2016-2018: Rita Zukauskiene, Lithuania